my life

I return from space!

Well, not really. But I did vanish off of the face of the planet for 2-3 years so might as well have been on a mission to the Moon.

So, what have I been up to all this time?

Well, I’ve surprised myself many times over the last few-years. I have my dearest to thank for giving me the courage for much of it: Christmas 201x, we back-packed through Austria and Germany, and hiked a mountain in mid-winter to get a breath-taking view of Neuschwanstein Castle.

castle.jpg
Above: Schloss Neuschwanstein | Below: Photographing the castle from above.

Then fast-forward a few months to the summer, when we completed a challenging 5-day hike through Wales. I was completely exhausted afterwards, but it well worth the aching feet. We haven’t had the opportunity to go on such a hike since, but hopefully we’ll find the time in the near future to walk the Peak District and Hadrian’s Wall.castleabove

Following that, my boyfriend went home to Bangkok for a year -having completed his bachelor’s degree- whilst I remaining in London to finish my studies and graduate with a masters in Earth Science (I can’t stop making ‘Trust me! I’m a Master of Science!’ jokes now).

It was tough only seeing each other over skype for months at a time, but after submitting my dissertation I was able to finally relax and spend an amazing 2 months in Asia. Prior to the summer, I’d visited for a month over Christmas and spent New Year’s snorkelling with his family in the south of Thailand (oh beautiful weather, I miss you so~).

16002352373_f581b3f681_o
The view from an island near Koh Lipe – with all of the dull weather we’re having in the UK right now, I’m really missing the hot sun and warm sands.

During the summer, we avoided the coast for the most part and the two of us went on a road-trip to visit Cyber Waterfall, Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Sanctuary, Kamphaeng Phet, Doi Inthanon, Chiang Mai and Phu Hin Rong Kla National Park. It was amazing to see a different side of Thailand before we returned to Bangkok for a week, then departed for Cambodia. I’d always dreamed of visiting Angkor, so it was truly magical to finally climb the stairs of Angkor Wat, to stare up at the Bayon, and to make my way through the ruins of Banteay Chmar where we were alone save for a family of French artists who sat painting and sketching the stone faces.

bayon.jpg
The beautiful and majestic Bayon temple in Cambodia.

Now both of us are back in the UK; boyfriend is studying for his research master’s, whilst I’m trying to get my career plans in motion. Sadly, I have to disappoint my grandad as my goal isn’t to be the first geologist to set foot on Mars. But, who knows? Maybe that’s where I’ll end up one day? After a few months of venturing into other fields, I’ve decided geology and palaeontology is where my heart is at. My goal is to go into research, so I’m trying to get work in a related field to expand my knowledge and skills before I pursue a PhD.

Alongside studying independently, I’m rekindling my love of cooking, art, photography and everything else tasty and beautiful. As a result, I’m planning on making this more of a ‘mixed’ blog. There’ll still be recipe posts, but expect to see adventures into art and science.  I’ve also started bouldering, so I might even share how I’m getting along with that (which, at present, is with a bruised knee and blistered hands – ouch!).

Leave a Reply

