my life

Someone has a new toy!

And by toy I mean something that children shouldn’t be allowed near. Food loving college students should probably be kept well away from said something too, especially when they’re clumsy and have a tendency to burn themselves, but it’s too late for that.

After mulling over the idea for a few days, I finally caved today and went bought a slow cooker. Technically, seeing as I paid with nectar points, it only cost me 49p in all! That makes me a very happy bunny birdy right now. I couldn’t wait to give it go, so swung past Lidl on the way home to grab some meat and onions to throw in with the vegetables I already had in the fridge. As I type, my vegetable & pork stew/casserole is cooking away nicely, and I really can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Still 3 hours left, but it smells amazing!
This was 3 hours before done (only 1 hour left now!) but it was already smelling amazing. It reminds me so much of food from home…

So far I’ve managed to stick to my vow of ‘I will eat more home-cooked food and more veggies, less sugar, and I will eat out less and I shall stop eating cereal for dinner’.  Okay, I did have pizza yesterday, but I was helping a friend move into their new flat and we had a catch-up before watching a movie. That aside, since I’ve started eating more healthily, I’ve been feeling a lot healthier and less lethargic. You are what you eat, I guess.

But, with classes starting up again in a week and with the days getting shorter and colder, I can see myself wavering a little. After a day of lectures, lab practicals, tutorials and/or grumbling over essays I usually can’t be bothered cooking up the something nutritious I’d told myself I would make that morning. In the past, I’ve usually gone with the easy option and grabbed the bran-flakes. Now I won’t have an excuse. I can throw everything into the pot in the morning and come home to tasty food, or I can make my meals on the weekend and freeze them for later in the week.

There are so many recipes I’m looking forwards to trying, and I’m also hoping I can convert some of the tasty dishes I miss from home into slow-cooker recipes. If there’s anything this year I’m really happy that I bought (other than my DSLR and a really cozy sweater I got from the thrift store last week) it’s my baby slow cooker.

(If any of you have any super tasty slow-cooker/crock-pot recipes you love, please do share them!)

Leave a Reply

