food & drink · recipes

Autumn Pumpkin Oatmeal

Whilst gushing over how autumn is nearly upon us in my last post, I mentioned I made pumpkin oatmeal for dinner. As I had the rest of the can to use up, I decided this morning I would once more treat myself to super-tasty porridge. And why not share the recipe?

This is heavily inspired by the Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal from Chocolate Covered Katie. I can’t believe I’d not stumbled upon her recipes before! Her blog is such a treasure trove, and I was super happy to find out I’m not the only person who puts cocoa powder or instant coffee in oatmeal.

Back to this oatmeal, though~

I made a few adjustments, as living in England can suck at times. Whilst I see lots of recipes calling for it, I’ve never seen ‘pumpkin pie spice’ on the shelves here. Even in London, I’ve yet to find it. I don’t know what it’s supposed to taste like, so I just threw in the usual mix of spices I use for making Apple-Pie Oatmeal (I live off of porridge, and will eat it with almost anything mixed into it – I’m as addicted to porridge as I am to tea, for which I probably need rehab) and it came out just right for me. I also added a good dollop of natural yoghurt, because yoghurt is another thing I honestly can’t live without.

Recipe beneath the cut.

I’m a student lazy, so I make my porridge in a microwave. It’s quicker that way, especially when you have an early morning lecture (being a science student, all my lectures are early in the morning) to scurry off to. If you wish, though, you could easily make this over the stove.

Autumn Pumpkin Oatmeal
(serves 1)

  • 30g porridge oats
  • 200 ml milk or water (I used unsweetened almond milk – you could go 50:50 with water to make this lighter)
  • 80g tinned pumpkin purée
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cloves (optional)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1-2 tsp sweetener (or sugar or honey), to taste
  • 30g (~2 tbsp) low-fat natural yoghurt (optional, but it makes it super creamy)
  1. Mix your oats and milk together in a bowl, and microwave on full power for 3 minutes, stirring every minute. The porridge should just be starting to thicken and ‘fluff’ up in the bowl.
  2. Remove from the microwave, and add your pumpkin purée, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves and salt. Mix well, then add in your sweetener.

    It looks so tasty before it's even been mixed. Lots of lovely spice!
    It looks so tasty before it’s even been mixed. Lots of lovely spice!
  3. Return to the microwave for 2-3 minute, or until the mixture has the desired thickness.
  4. Remove from the microwave and stir in the yoghurt. If you want to, top with another dollop of yoghurt, a drizzle of honey, and some cinnamon, and viola!
It might not look that appetising, but the taste certainly makes up for appearance.

When I made this last night, I drizzled over a teaspoon of melted rhubarb and ginger preserve. Yum!

This makes a super-filling breakfast… or lunch and dinner. That’s why I love oatmeal so much; it stops me feeling hungry in the middle of lectures, and thus stops me sulking later in the day when I’m doing homework because I’m trying to remember what it was I didn’t hear because my stomach was yelling ‘feed me!’. If you switched natural yoghurt for low-fat Greek yoghurt, you could make this even more filling by adding a dose of good-old protein.

With just over 1/2 a can of pumpkin left, I’ll hopefully resist the urge to make the same porridge again. I have a few ideas in my head, so if they turn out well I’ll be sure to share them.

Leave a Reply

