food & drink · my life

This is not a recipe post

Sadly, the title speaks the truth. It’s been over a week since I posted, I know, but If I were to say I’ve been busy… well, I’d be lying. The truth is, I’m working my way through a hoard of frozen food right now. I need to free up some freezer space so I can buy more food to forget about for four or more months. Using up frozen food is harder than I thought it would be, though. I keep finding other things to cook and eat, or I keep forgetting to take out meat that I have to let defrost. I think I’ve inherited that from my mum…

That aside, I did cook the best tasting thing I’ve ever cooked in my entire life a few days ago! I was craving fish, and as I’d make the 1km trek to the largest nearby supermarket, I decided to make the most of their fish-counter and picked up a whole mackerel for myself. I just baked it with salt, black pepper, and a sprinkle of dill, but it seriously didn’t need anything else. I can’t think of any word other than ‘perfect’ to describe it.

I was really proud of myself. It was my first time away from home cooking a whole fresh fish. Though they’d gutted it in-store (badly and messily, minds…) I even de-boned it all on my own prior to cooking! I don’t think tinned mackerel will ever be as satisfying as it once was.

I also made some super-tasty porridge today. Autumn is almost here, and I’m really excited! I love it when the days start to get shorter and cooler, and when all the leaves turn a hundred different shades of orange, red and gold. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Whilst last week it was quite hot, today was fairly chilly so I dug out one of my favourite knitted jumpers and adventured to buy ingredients for dinner.

I was going to make wraps, but I forgot to buy the salsa I originally left the house for. I did, however, pick up a tin of puréed pumpkin; if that isn’t a sign of a quickly approaching Autumn, then I don’t know what is. My original dinner plan down the drain thanks to my blonde-moment, I whipped up a batch of spiced pumpkin oatmeal for dinner instead. Success!

Leave a Reply

