food & drink · recipes

Death by Chocolate

Another recipe, finally. I was hoping to make the most of the last few weeks before classes start, but little things jump in my way. I had a bit of a health scare and stayed with my grandparents for a few nights, but it seems to have cleared up on it’s own. I’ll just keep my fingers crossed that it doesn’t come back, because waking up in pain at 5:30 AM is not my idea of a good start to the day.

Some better news, though; it’s my little brother’s birthday!
And by ‘little‘ I mean younger than me, but annoying taller, stronger, and bigger, so I guess big-little brother is more accurate. Being in London, I can’t bake him a cake as I always have in the past – like last year Borderlands Cake (I ran out of icing for the other arm, but he was holding a sparkler at least…).

At least I can’t bake a cake and give it to him. There’s nothing wrong with making a cake and eating it on his behalf, right?

Nothing wrong at all.
Especially when it’s a super-awesome Chocolate Mug Cake topped with home-made banana fro-yo. Yummy! No oven required, either; just your favourite mug and a microwave. And the ingredients, of course. Did I mention it’s egg-free?

Recipe beneath the cut.

Microwave Chocolate Mug Cake

  • 4 teaspoons melted butter (or oil)
  • 3 tablespoons water (or milk)
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2-3 tbsp plain flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (omit if you prefer a denser, more brownie-like cake)
  1. In a large mug, mix together the melted butter, water and vanilla extract with a fork.
  2. Add the sugar and cocoa powder, and mix well until no lumps remain.
  3. Finally, add the flour and baking powder, and mix again until smooth.
  4. Microwave for 60 seconds, then check. If you don’t want the middle to be gooey, microwave for another 20-30 seconds. 90 seconds should be enough, but if you have a lower powered microwave heat further in 15 second blasts until the middle is cooked, taking care not to burn the outsides.

    I overcooked this one a little bit... Don't forget that it will keep cooking for 10 or so seconds after you take it out of the microwave.
    I overcooked this one a little bit… Don’t forget that it will keep cooking for 10 or so seconds after you take it out of the microwave.
  5. Grab a spoon, and enjoy!

For a Hazelnut-Chocolate Cake, switch the Water for Hazelnut Milk, and replace 2 teaspoons of oil/butter with 1 tablespoon of Nutella. Alternatively, if peanuts are more of your thing, replace 2 teaspoons of oil/butter with 1 tablespoon of smooth or crunchy peanut butter. Yum!

This is great eaten with a spoon fresh out of the microwave (it’ll be hot!) topped with some ice-cream or frozen yoghurt. I’ll write up the recipe for the Home-made Banana Frozen Yoghurt in the next day or two – hopefully sooner than later.

I’m sure whipped cream and marshmallows would be another lovely alternative.

One thought on “Death by Chocolate

Leave a Reply

