food & drink · recipes

Zuchinni Noodles with Soy Sauce & Sesame Dressing

I was planning to go to London Zoo today, but it rained… A lot.

As a result, that plan went out of the window. I know it would probably be less busy, but I don’t have my umbrella (I left it in the north when visiting my parents, but I should be re-united with it in a week or two) and I was hoping to get some pictures of the animals. Carrying my camera around in a downpour would be nothing short of silly, and juggling a DSLR and umbrella is tricky too when you only have one pair of hands.

So, I had a lazy day instead which wasn’t all too bad. I made a simple layout for the blog but, seeing as I can’t change use a custom layout without paying, I settled with just using the banner. Even if it’s not much, I’m really proud of it. I used to play around in Photoshop all the time and make website layouts as a hobby, but when I started university I developed new interests so it’s been laying there neglected for the past two years.

I didn’t hide in my room all day like some sort of cave troll, though; I ventured out to buy hay-fever tablets (which weren’t in stock) and fruit, and whilst walking past the vegetable isle I remembered that I had a zuchinni in the fridge that needed using. There’s also left-over chicken curry, but I’ve had that two nights in a row and fancied something a little different.

Mentioning zuchinni noodles in my lasagne post reminded me that I hadn’t made them in a while, so dinner was set! It’s a really easy dish, so I thought I’d share. It’s quick too, once you’ve had a bit of practice at making the ‘noodles’ or ribbons.

Recipe beneath the cut.

My mother stumbled across this recipe on-line a few years ago. Since then, it’s been forgotten, re-invented, adapted, and mixed up at meal-times in our family.

Zuchinni Noodles with Soy Sauce & Sesame Dressing
(Serves 1)

  • 1 large zuchinni
  • 1 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1/2 to 1 tbsp rice vinegar (depending upon how sharp your vinegar is)
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp sugar, honey or sweetener (I used sweetener this time, but usually I use honey)
  • toasted sesame seeds, for sprinkling
  1. Cut the ends off of your zuchinni. Using a vegetable peeler, cut long, flat ‘noodles’ or ribbons. The first and last ribbons will mostly green, so if you want to you can discard these. Mum usually does, but I keep them.

    The sharper your vegetable peeler, the easier it will to cut your ribbons.
    The sharper your vegetable peeler, the easier it will to cut your ribbons. Alternating between cuts moving towards and way from yourself also helps keep the noodles an even thickness.
  2. With the zuchinni slices, bring a pan of water to a rolling boil.
  3. Whilst waiting for the water to heat, mix together the soy sauce, 1/2 tbsp vinegar, sesame oil and sugar. Add extra vinegar and sugar if you prefer your dressing sweeter or sharper.
  4. Add the ribbons of zuchinni to the boiling water, and simmer for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. The ribbons should just be starting to soften and go a little translucent. Drain, and rinse with cold temperature to cool, then toss with half of the dressing.
  5. Serve the noodles on a plate, top with a little extra dressing, and sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds (I was too lazy to toast mine, but toasted sesame seeds taste infinitely better).

This goes really well with tofue, grilled chicken or fish. I was lazy and used seafood sticks because I was too hungry to cook up something else to go with this. But they have protein, after all, right? Right. And they’re so tasty that I can go through half a packet before any even get added to what I’m cooking. 

One thought on “Zuchinni Noodles with Soy Sauce & Sesame Dressing

Leave a Reply

