food & drink · recipes

Fruit pastries, two ways

Yesterday, I went for the gym the first time in my life. I was nervous at first -everyone looked so professional- but after a few minutes I found I had no reason to be frightened at all. I went to use the elliptical-machine as running through the park leaves me with a sore knee (and there’s the matter of my hay-fever killing me every single time) and it’s my new favourite thing. All in all, I’m really proud of myself!

Don’t worry, though. No matter how much cardio I do, I’ll never get over my addiction to sugary sweets, cake and chocolate. They love me, and I love them. Desserts and I are a match made in heaven. ♥

On the matter of sweets, I went overboard in the kitchen again on Friday.

When putting away cooking utensils, I discovered the rolling-pin I’d bought in June before I went off volunteering. It was then I remembered that I’d also bought a block of pastry. I dug it out of the freezer, tidied up, went for a run, came home with my eyes streaming because of the evil that is pollen, showered, then went crazy making little fruit puff-pastries.

Some were pear with cinnamon and custard, the others were strawberry and milk chocolate. Both were delicious. As were the little cinnamon-sugar spirals I made from the offcuts. Being from the north of England, though, I have to love pastry of all kinds. It’s written in the law. I think…

Recipe beneath the cut.

I only had one block of pastry so divided it, but the quantities here are for one whole block per recipe. These will freeze both before and after baking; before is probably best, but I didn’t think of that at the time.

Strawberry & Milk Chocolate Pastries
(Makes around 12 Pastries)

  • 25 medium strawberries, tops removed and sliced
  • 12 squares of milk chocolate
  • 1 block of puff-pastry, thawed if originally frozen
  • milk, for sealing and coating
  • sugar, for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven according to instructions on your block of pastry.
  2. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the pastry into a rectangle that is roughly 2-3 mm thick. With a knife, cut the pastry into 12 equal rectangles.
  3. Leaving 1 1/2 cm gap around the edges, place a square of chocolate on one half of each rectangle of pastry, then top each square with slices of strawberry.
  4. With a pastry brush or clean fingers, dampen the edges of the pastry with a little milk, then fold the other half of the rectangle over the top. Press down the outer edges using a fork to seal them shut, and make some little ‘breathing-holes’ in the top.

    The messier the pastry, the better it tastes... trust me.
    The messier the pastry, the better it tastes… trust me.
  5. Dampen the top slightly with milk, and sprinkle with sugar.
  6. Place the pastries 2cm apart on a baking tray lined with baking paper, and bake in the oven for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the pastry turns a light golden colour.
Allow the pastries to cool a little after they come out of the oven - the strawberries inside will be really hot because of the natural fruit sugars.
Allow the pastries to cool a little after they come out of the oven – the strawberries inside will be really hot because of the natural fruit sugars.
Serve with a little whipped cream if you'd like. Or, as I have, some fat-free Greek Yogurt. It really brings out the flavour of the chocolate, which stays nice and gooey even when the pastries have cooled.
Serve with a little whipped cream if you’d like. Or, as I have, some fat-free Greek Yogurt. It really brings out the flavour of the chocolate, which stays nice and gooey even when the pastries have cooled.

Pear, Cinnamon & Custard Pastries
(Makes around 15 Pastries)

  • 2 to 3 medium pears
  • 150ml custard
  • cinnamon, for dusting
  • 1 block puff-pastry, thawed if originally frozen
  • milk, for sealing and coating
  • sugar, for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven according to instructions on your block of pastry.
  2. Slice the pears into quarters length-ways, and remove the top, bottom and cores. Slice into 1/2 cm thick slices.
  3. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the pastry until it’s 2-3 mm thick. Using a circular pastry cutter (6 to 8 cm diameter, though I could sadly only find a smaller circle) cut out an even number of disks from the pastry, rolling the pastry back into a ball and re-rolling flat if you need to. (Though the more it’s re-rolled, the less it will puff up when cooked).
  4. Set aside half of the pastry disks, and lay the rest out flat. Place 2 to 3 slices of pear in the middle of each disk and dust with a little cinnamon. Top with 1/2 tsp of custard.

    My disks were a bit too small, so hopefully with a bigger cutter you'll get more fruit and custard in each pastry.
    My disks were a bit too small, so hopefully with a bigger cutter you’ll get more fruit and custard in each pastry.
  5. With a pastry brush or clean fingers, dampen the edges of the pastry with a little milk, then place another pastry disk over the top. Press down the outer edges using a fork to seal them shut, and make some little ‘breathing-holes’ in the top.
  6. Dampen the top slightly with milk, and sprinkle with sugar and a little cinnamon.
  7. Place the pastries 2 cm apart on a baking tray lined with baking paper, and bake in the oven for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the pastry turns a light golden colour.
I’m going through a ‘Custard and Greek yoghurt are the best!’ phase at the moment…

As I would never be able to forgive myself for throwing away perfectly good food, I mashed the left-over off-cuts together and re-rolled them into a rough circle. I dampened it with a little milk then sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon, before rolling it up and flattening a little. After another dusting of sugar and cinnamon, I sliced it into little fingers and popped it in the oven until the top started to go a lovely golden brown.

Mini-cinnamon swirls of joy~ ♥
Mini-cinnamon swirls of joy~ ♥

With my flatmates, friends and boyfriend away until late September I have no one around to force-feed. After trying one of each of the pastries, I boxed up the rest and squeezed them into the freezer – apart from the cinnamon spirals; I’ve been having one each day with my morning coffee. Sadly, there’s no more room in the freezer now so until I use up some of my frozen ingredients I won’t be able to bake for a while.

2 thoughts on “Fruit pastries, two ways

  1. Mmm, my favourite desserts are usually fruit ones. The turnovers really remind me of hand pies! Just last week I made a batch of peach and blueberry hand pies- really easy to eat, and super fun to make. And also very tasty. I’d love to try making the custard puffs! Thanks for stopping by Life Is Like A Dumpling :)

    1. Fruit desserts make me feel like I’m being slightly healthy, even if everything else is sugar-overload. ^^;
      Peach and blueberry sounds like a really fun combination! I might give it a try next time I make pancakes. (= And you’re welcome! Your Kimchi Rolls look amazing! I need something new to do with kimchi other than just eat it with rice.

Leave a Reply

