food & drink · recipes

Chocolate makes everything better…

I hate being ill. I mean, who doesn’t?
Sadly, I think I’m coming down with something. I woke up feeling completely drained yesterday, but showered and forced myself to eat breakfast as I was meant to be volunteering at the bird sanctuary. I’d hoped getting some food would make me feel a little better, but it didn’t seem to make a difference. As we have no car at the moment, my only method of travelling to where I was working was on the back of my dad’s motorcycle – the absolute worst place to suddenly have a spell of vertigo and dizziness (which is a common thing when I’m sick). So, to cut a long story short, after getting to work I was advised to go straight home again. Though I don’t feel as exhausted today, I have 10 1/2 hours sleep to thank for that, I’m still stuck at home thanks to the dizzies. I feel bad that I won’t be able to help even though I’d said I would.

I guess I should see the bright side, though. Having to make myself sit down all day, I’ve been able to listen to music and -insert EXO fangirling here-**. I’ve also finally gotten round to typing up the back-log of recipes I have. So, I present to you my Chocolate and Avocado cake!

As weird and as crazy as it sounds, this is really tasty, I promise! It’s one of those light-and-fluffy-yet-dense-and-moist sort of cakes. Also, there’s no butter in this recipe; just mashed avocado, and a little splash of oil to help bring the mix together.

My mother is a pro at lining cake tins. My attempt was catastrophic... oops.
My mother is a pro at lining cake tins. My attempt was catastrophic… oops.

Recipe beneath the cut.

Chocolate & Avocado Cake

  • 110 g plain flour
  • 30g cocoa powder (the baking kind; it’s stronger, so much more chocolatey)
  • 11⁄2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 avocado, mashed
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 120 ml semi-skimmed milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1⁄4 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C / 325°F / Gas 3. Line a 6-7 inch cake tin with baking paper (or beg your mother to do it if you’re hopeless like me). This mix should also work for cupcakes, if you prefer.
  2. Take your avocado and mash it really well. Mashing on a plate with the back of a fork might be best. A smooth paste with no lumps is ideal, though if there are a few lumps don’t worry!
  3. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and avocado to a bowl. Using a free-standing mixer, or hand-held whisk, beat until sandy in consistency and everything is combined.

    I was a little lazy mashing the avocado, as you can see...
    I was a little lazy mashing the avocado, as you can see…
  4. Add the tablespoon of oil, and mix again, then gradually pour in half the coffee and beat until the milk is just incorporated.
  5. Whisk the egg, vanilla extract and milk together in a separate jug, then pour into the flour mixture. Mix until incorporated, then mix for another 2 to 3 minutes until the mixture is smooth.
  6. Pour the mix into the lined cake-tin and bake for 45 to 60 minutes, or until the sponge bounces back when touched and a wooden skewer inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean. (We use and fine knitting needle that has lost it’s friend, so anything thin and pointy should do the trick).
    If making cupcakes, then bake for 20–25 minutes.

Leave to stand on a cooling rack for 10 to 15 minutes before carefully turning the cake out and removing the baking paper. Sit back on the rack until fully cooled if you plan on icing the cake. If not, then I recommend trying a big slice whilst the cake is still warm. Custard is totally optional.

** I love K-Pop and Asian pop bands, okay? (Korean Pop Music, for those who are new to it). And no, no. Not Psy, though I really respect him for bringing K-Pop to the attention of the world. I discovered K-Pop 2007/2008, though previously, I was a heavy-metal lover (Rammstein, Metallica, Sabaton ♥) despite my love of cute and frilly clothes. I still get the ‘you don’t look like the sort of person who would listen to that sort of music’ thing… But yeah, EXO have a new single out and oh my~♥

One thought on “Chocolate makes everything better…

Leave a Reply

