food & drink

Coffee with honey?

Yep. You read that correctly; Coffee with honey. No, no! Don’t walk away! I’ve not gone crazy; that happened a long time ago, but that’s not what I’m here for.

A few days ago I was discussing tea and coffee with a friend, a topic we somehow arrived to after gushing about our shared love of console games. Part way through the conversation he asked ‘Sugar or no sugar?’. I responded no sugar. I like sweet coffee, but whenever I try to sweeten it myself it ends up too sweet (usually it’s not sweet enough at first, and then I end up adding too much sugar trying to fix it) or it isn’t the right kind of sweet. Hearing that, he suggested I try adding honey instead.

I’ve added honey to tea before, I drink green-tea like it’s going out of fashion, but adding honey to coffee seemed alien and strange. This morning, however, I decided to be brave. My grandparents have a little line-up of honey beside their kettle, which my granddad adds to his porridge every morning. After umming-and-arring for a little bit, I picked up the big jar of Manuka Honey -the label was pretty, and the honey itself had a beautiful colour- and stirred a generous teaspoon full into my morning coffee. The result? A cup of coffee with a lovely floral-sweet after taste. It wasn’t overly sweet or sickly, as sugar sometimes is, but just-right in my opinion. If you have a sweet-tooth like I do, then I recommend giving it a try.

{Click image for source}
2 thoughts on “Coffee with honey?

Leave a Reply

